Joshua Ohlund, MFT, MHPP

Joshua works with children ages 5+ and their parents and adolescents.

“Life by the yard is hard; by the inch it’s a cinch.”

I deeply enjoy connecting with adolescents and children. I have 7 younger siblings whose ages currently range from early adolescence to adulthood. From the time my parents divorced several years ago, I’ve taken on the role of mentor with several of my siblings and remain closely connected to them. In addition to my clinical training, my sibling relationships have given me years of personal experience working with adolescents and their varying personalities and responses as they’ve endured hard things. Through difficult times, I now believe, all it takes is small, seemingly insignificant changes to how we think and behave that sparks the fire that fuels us in the direction we want to go in our lives.

I have a naturally cheerful and easy-going temperament which I have found helps working with adolescents and children. As a clinician I will use my relationship building skills and ask thought-provoking and introspective questions; my superpowers when working with adolescents. Some of the more common issues I treat are depression, anxiety, self-harm, self-esteem, and behavioral concerns. I also help teens and children whose parents are dealing with or have been through divorce. In our appointments we may spend time talking, doing activities, and/or developing practical skills that will help them with the problems they are facing.

In working with children, I believe parental involvement is crucial to their successful treatment and achieving goals. I will give guidance and homework for my client’s parents to practice using in between appointments. Our time in session will be adapted based on the treatment goals and needs of the child. This may include talking, doing age-appropriate activities and role plays that will allow me to assess, encourage communication, and progress.

In my free time I love spending time with my wife and child and feel eager to meet baby #2 due in 2024. I enjoy listening to a large variety of music, playing piano and guitar, reading, researching, writing, and playing strategy games.